Future of Work Group

The FCA’s Future of Work group aims to understand and address the effects of technology on the workforce from the perspective of the computing community

 

FCA's FUTURE OF WORK GROUP

The Future of Work group aims to understand and address the effects of technology on the workforce from the perspective of the computing community. We will also track the public perception of these effects and seek to be a constructive participant in this important conversation. Specific activities that we are pursuing related to these aims include:

 

  • Providing guidance for authors, proposers, and reviewers on how to argue for and evaluate the “broader impacts” and “design implications” of new technologies in an era in which *negative impacts* and *negative implications* must be considered.
  • Executing research on global public opinion about the relationship between technology and the workforce and engaging in the global conversation about this relationship.
  • Empowering workers who are likely candidates for replacement by computing technologies.

Group Members


CHAIR:
Lauren Wilcox
wilcox@gatech.edu

CO-CHAIR:
Jeffrey Bigham
jbigham@cs.cmu.edu


Brent Hecht
bhecht@northwestern.edu

Ehsan Hoque
mehoque@cs.rochester.edu

Jason Ernst
jason@left.io

Svitlana Volkova
svitlana.volkova@pnnl.gov

Yonatan Bisk
ybisk@yonatanbisk.com

Johannes Schoening
schoening@uni-bremen.de